Further details of the ALCS Tom-Gallon Award

  • Post author:
  • Post category:News

A little more about the ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award, taken from the Society of Authors shortlist announcement:

‘Sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS), the ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award is awarded for a short story by a writer who has had at least one short story accepted for publication. Judged by Stuart Evers and Michele Roberts.

Ghillie’s Mum by Lynda Clark

High Water by Carol Farrelly

The Bird That Fluttered Free by Ani Kayode Somtochukwu

Whale Watching by Diana Powell

Eva at the End of the World by Wendy Riley

The Pier at Ardentinny by Catriona Ward

ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award judge Stuart Evers says: ‘The broad and distinctive range of voices in this year’s ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award made for a spirited and passionate debate, and one that showed the dynamism and singularity of these stories.’

Previous winner include Benjamin Myers, Lucy Wood, Grace Ingoldby and Claire Harman. Total prize fund: £1,575.

The winners will be announced online on Thursday 18 June, with a series of short films to celebrate this year’s winning and shortlisted authors.’

Something to look forward to with nervous anticipation…